image1 image2 image3 image1

About Macon Race Cars

Macon Race Cars is a small UK racing car constructor that was started in the early 1960’s by Tony Houghton and Angus McPhail.

Macon made single seater racing cars primarily for Formula Ford but also built cars for Formula 2, Formula ‘B’, Formula Pacific and Formula Junior.

Macon cars were successful in period as they still are today. Notable drivers in the early days included Ray Allen, Syd Fox, Henry Clark, Gabrielle Konig and Vern Schuppan whilst Australian Alan Jones was refused his first drive in a Macon by Tony Houghton due to personality differences!

Today, PA Motorsport owns Macon Race Cars and continues to provide spares from original jigs, drawings and moulds for the remaining Macon cars around the world. We aim to keep a stock of most components ‘on the shelf’.

All parts are made on the original jigs and using the correct specification materials. Please contact us if you require a genuine Macon part.

The PA Motorsport Team also owns and runs a number of Macons in Historic Formula Ford and has previously rebuilt two Macons back to former glory which were found and bought back from America.

We also have all of the original Macon Race Cars company paperwork detailing all of the Macon race cars. If you own a Macon please contact us with your car details so we can include you on our chassis register and keep in touch.

In 2010, PA Motorsport ran a Macon for Darren Burke and went on to win every single race in the UK HSCC Historic Formula Ford Championship, setting 10 lap records along the way. Most of the lap records still stand.